Advertisements

Witch Hunt by SM Reine (2014)

Review by CJ

witch-hunt

Page count:
234 pages

Format:
Kindle ebook

ASIN:
B00I9IM9MW

 

Office of Preternatural Affairs Agent Cèsar Hawke wakes up after a night of drinking with a hangover and a dead waitress in his bathroom. Neither his agency or local law enforcement believe Cèsar is innocent and his own memory was compromised by alcohol. If he is to get out of this, Cèsar must team up with his partner Suzy and the necrocognitive Isobel to reveal what actually happened.

Witch Hunt is the first book in the Preternatural Affairs series.

The story of Witch Hunt is lots of fun to read. There’s mystery, intrigue, demons, magic and a dash of romance.

The protagonist Cèsar Hawke is a bit of a wildcard. On one hand he is a sympathetic character who has magic and kicks butt. On the other hand there are several times where he crosses the line from sympathetic into pitiful where his actions and thoughts almost make him unlikeable.

The supporting characters have been given good grounding upon which to build as the series moves forward. For the most part, they are still bare bones but they are solid enough for the first novel of a series.

Witch Hunt is a fairly quick read and Reine has done a great job of keeping the plot going. There was never a point in the novel that I felt bored or that it was moving too slowly.

Witch Hunt is a good addition to the urban fantasy genre that will likely appeal to fans of Laurell K. Hamilton, Patricia Briggs and Charlaine Harris. I’m looking forward to digging in to the rest of the series.

Rating:
3.5 Stars

Advertisements

Comments

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: